AACN News AACN, the Hartford Foundation and NYU Honor Nursing Schools for Innovative Gerontology Curricula

Meet the 2006 Hartford foundation award winners.

November 17, 2006 — Washington, DC — The John A. Hartford Foundation Institute for Geriatric Nursing and New York University, in collaboration with the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN), are pleased to announce the winners of the 2006 Awards for Baccalaureate Education in Geriatric Nursing. Presented at AACN's fall meeting, awards were given to one faculty member at the University of Minnesota and three schools of nursing: Old Dominion University (VA), Johns Hopkins University (MD), and the University of Missouri-Columbia.

Now in its ninth year, this national awards program was created to recognize model baccalaureate programs in nursing with a strong focus on gerontological nursing. Awards are presented to nursing programs that exhibit exceptional, substantive, and innovative baccalaureate curriculum in this subject area. Beyond innovation, programs must also demonstrate relevance in the clinical environment and have the ability to be replicated at schools of nursing across the country.

“Given the rapid aging of our population, we need to insure that nurses in the educational pipeline are well prepared to provide the highest quality geriatric care possible,” said AACN President Jeanette Lancaster, PhD, RN, FAAN. “AACN is proud to join with the Hartford Institute in recognizing four schools of nursing whose work to strengthen the geriatric nursing curriculum will enhance the quality of care available to older adults”

Awards were presented in four separate categories to the following:

Reviewers sought small, innovative, and promising programs, as well as larger, well-established curricula, that could be showcased as proven models of excellence. Among other elements, such programs have separate, free-standing courses that focus on gerontology; use multiple clinical sites creatively; form partnerships with community resources; have faculty knowledgeable in and committed to geriatric nursing care; and integrate gerontological experiences into the overall curriculum.

To read the abstracts from the winning schools, click here.

The American Association of Colleges of Nursing is the national voice for university and four-year-college education programs in nursing. Representing more than 590 member schools of nursing at public and private institutions nationwide, AACN's educational, research, governmental advocacy, data collection, publications, and other programs work to establish quality standards for bachelor's- and graduate-degree nursing education, assist deans and directors to implement those standards, influence the nursing profession to improve health care, and promote public support of baccalaureate and graduate nursing education, research, and practice. Web site: http://www.aacn.nche.edu.

The Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing, proudly housed at the New York University College of Nursing, seeks to shape the quality of health care older Americans receive by promoting the highest level of geriatric competence in all nurses. By raising the standards of nursing care, the Hartford Institute aims to ensure that people age with optimal function, comfort, and dignity. The Hartford Institute identifies and develops best practices in nursing care of older adults and infuses these practices into the education of every nursing student and the work environment of every practicing professional nurse. The Hartford Institute encourages national leadership to establish best practice as the standard for geriatric nursing care. www.hartfordign.org.

Source: AACN

Review a summary of nursing news or nursing articles.

Search for a nursing degree now